Postcrossing – crossing paths with strangers

…Nearly half a million members have sent 22, 000, 000 cards 113 billion kilometres (more than 2.5 million times around the world)!…

…Hanna’s card from me got to her after 16,473 km (10,236 miles) of travel!…

Post office boxes
Anticipation of finding mine full!

On the “About” page, I put a link to the Postcrossing website. The Postcrossing concept is quite a nice one: send a postcard to a stranger and receive a postcard from a stranger. Nearly half a million members have sent 22, 000, 000 cards 113 billion kilometres (more than 2.5 million times around the world)! That is pretty amazing. I have sent my first 5 cards: 3 to Russia, one to the US and one to Germany. Upon joining, you are able to request to send a card. After that, you get issued with a card ID and you send your card (initially, 5 at a time). When your card arrives at its destination, the receiver registers it. At this point, you have officially sent your card. I just got word today that my first card has officially arrived in Germany. Hanna’s card from me got to her after 16,473 km (10,236 miles) of travel!

I really like the Postcrossing concept – thanks to Stacey for putting me on to it! I think that I will endeavour to send the same number of cards to random strangers as I receive from greetingsfromstrangers readers. I will either be disappointed and only have to send a handful, or be ecstatic and have to send dozens!

Wes

Leave a Reply

