The Tetons

If asked before leaving for this trip, I would have said that Grand Teton National Park was at the top of my list, and this is why:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The first view

As a kid, if you draw a picture, this is how you draw mountains. This place was awesome and I’ll need a couple or three posts to do it justice.

When we first arrived, we stayed just outside of Jackson and we enjoyed a few days just staring at these amazing mountains. Curtis Canyon campground sits up on a hill looking down over Jackson Hole and the entire Teton range – the perfect position from which to begin. We met another fantastic camp host (Josh taught me how to shoot and he took me for a drive in his F350 – awesome sauce!).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Josh – kind, generous and almost as tough as me! He could shoot nearly as well as I could too!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
First time shooting a rifle – from about 50 yards away! Josh had me put the flower in my first hole and try to hit it – alas, I was only able to get closer to the middle 😛
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Mountain Man, me.

One morning I woke up at about 3am so that I could see the mountains lit by the full moon. I woke Ruth up (oops) and she joined me for a little while. She did not come out again at 5am when I was up for the sunrise! I thought it was worth it, though!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Full moon’s light over the Tetons.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Early morning mist over Jackson Hole
iPhone_25
Sunrise over Jackson Hole and the Teton Range

We’ll leave it here for now and come back to Curtis Canyon next time.

Leave a Reply

